top of page

Meet our Student Assistants: Aubrey Medina

"My name is Aubrey and for me, coffee is a necessity on most days, and a want on the rest of the days."

 

Aubrey Medina is a senior from Virginia Beach and will receive degrees in International Studies and Multimedia Journalism in May. She's passionate about understanding different cultures, storytelling and travel. She's currently the Communications Assistant at the Global Education Office and is responsible for the GEO social media, newsletter, and capturing captivating stories about study abroad at Virginia Tech.

"I grew up in Virginia Beach, Virginia, and I'm proud of it! As a kid, I spent many days on the beach; swimming, crabbing, fishing, and body boarding waves with my family. My favorite memories growing up are mostly moments spent with them; I'm so lucky to have a large extended family who lives same city, and no one lives more than 15 minutes away. Every summer we would go on a week-long camping trip to Hungry Mother State Park, where we swam in the lake and ended each night eating s'mores with slices of cold strawberries in them (try it, you can thank me later).

My parents are from the Philippines, and a trip to their home country when I was about 5 changed my life. I fell in love with travelling and experiencing different lifestyles. I loved learning about the small quirks people have because of how and where they grew up. That sparked my interest in studying different cultures, and now I major in International Studies!

The summer going into my sophomore year of college, I embarked on the adventure of a lifetime and studied abroad for 9 weeks in Oman! I usually get funny looks when I say I chose to study abroad there - it's not usually people's first thought of 'studying abroad', but I wanted a challenge. I also wanted to dive deep into a culture that I knew almost nothing about. Needless to say, it was an amazing experience, and I would love to visit more countries in the Middle East.

My favorite things to do in Blacksburg is lay a blanket out on the Drillfield when the sun is out, check out the farmer's market, share a charcuterie board with friends at Blacksburg Wine Lab, or grab a cup of coffee at a local coffee shop."

One day, she hopes to tell stories through video that explores cultures by traveling around the globe, interviewing locals, and sharing their voice with the world.

 

Q&A with Aubrey:

What are some of your favorite hobbies? Thrifting, DIY stuff, decorating my apartment, swimming and trying new restaurants!

What is your biggest pet peeve and why? I absolutely hate being rushed. I can rush myself, but please don't rush me, I freak out.

What is your life motto? We exist to better others and be bettered by others.

What are some things visitors MUST do when they visit your hometown? You MUST have brunch. VB is a hotspot for great brunch places. I recommend Bee and the Biscuit or Commune - both feature locally sourced ingredients!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page