top of page

Meet our Peer Advisor: Rachel Leonardo


Rachel Leonardo taking a photo

"I'm Rachel and I love a good Saturday morning cup of coffee over conversations about what you're passionate about in the world. So, let's grind some beans and share some dreams!"

 

A senior from Bethesda, Maryland, Rachel is studying architecture with a minor in sustainability. She's passionate about social sustainability and urban development and hopes to work internationally repairing social environments through creating incentivizing built forms. She studied abroad on exchange for a full academic year in Braunschweig, Germany.

"I'm a born and raised Marylander. Growing up right outside of DC was awesome! On weekends my family and I would go hiking, biking, doing museum visits! I fell in love with this unique surrounding mix of city-life and the natural environment. It is a lifestyle I am constantly in pursuit of finding in other places around the world to this day.

Growing up, I was always surrounded by architects and for some reason, the only toy that would keep me preoccupied was LEGOs (if you know, you know). From a young age, I knew it was a field I wanted to enter. While studying, I have fallen into my passions for sustainable living and incorporation into the profession. I hope to use my knowledge learned here to benefit our built environments one day.

In my spare time, you can catch me taking pictures in the back roads of Blacksburg with friends, watching movies or playing the uke. In school, I am involved in Studio Collective as a photographer for the marketing team, take part if VT street dream events and am a proud member of the GEO! (Go study abroad!) I would say, though, that my favorite thing to do in Blacksburg is sitting in one of the many coffee shops on a weekend morning, music in ears, cup-a-joe in one hand and pencil and sketchbook in the other."

Q&A with Rachel:

What are some of your favorite artists at the moment?

Arlie, COIN, and The Hails

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?

Spain, the culture, people, landscapes, and travel accessibility is unbeatable in comparison to the rest of the world.

What is your biggest pet peeve and why?

People who aren't open to being disagreed with. We all have opinions and that's cool cause it makes us human!

What is your life motto?

Always pursue your happiness, what else do we have if not this?

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page