top of page

Meet our Student Assistants: Jackie Settele

"My name is Jackie, and I'm a wicked big Northerner with a passion for engineering and design."

 

Jackie Settele is a sophomore majoring in mechanical engineering and minoring in industrial design. She's passionate about design, sustainability, and research. Jackie hopes combine engineering and design to create more sustainable products.

"I grew up in the smallest town in New Hampshire named Barrington. I loved it there as a kid because New England has every season (including a VERY long winter). I'm very lucky to have grown up there; I lived 20 minutes from the beach, and about an hour away from Boston, the mountains, and the lakes. Although, living there my whole life, made me want to get away for college.

I decided to go to Virginia Tech because of the outstanding academics, the better weather, and most importantly, the Hokie spirit. I have never missed a home football game and you can quote me on that. Freshman year I made my family visit for Thanksgiving, so that I would not miss the UVA game.

I decided on an engineering major since I enjoy math and science. Since starting college, I have always wanted to find a way to express my creative side. Within my sorority I am the merchandise chair for the marketing committee, which means I get to design t-shirts and other items for the events. Being the marketing and design assistant for the Global Education Office has given me a lot of opportunities to express my creativity which I am so grateful for!

My favorite thing to do in Blacksburg on Saturday is breakfast or lunch at Gillie's and the Farmers Market. I love walking around downtown with friends, and taking pictures when the weather is nice."

 

Q&A with Jackie:

What are some of your favorite hobbies? Painting, running, waterskiing, phtography, eating some good food, hiking

What is your favorite song? What You Know by Two Door Cinema Club

What would you say your dream job is? I would love to work for Engineers without Borders

What are some things visitors MUST experience when they visit your hometown? You HAVE to visit the Big Bean, it's a local breakfast/lunch place and everything they make is to die for. Downtown Portsmouth on a summer night is my favorite place too.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page