© 2023 by NOMAD ON THE ROAD. Proudly created with Wix.com

Meet our Peer Advisor: Katie Berry

October 30, 2019

 

 

 

 

"My name is Katie

 and my mom's apple pie is better than your mom's apple pie."

 

A senior from South Riding, Virginia, Katie is double majoring in Math and Spanish and has a minor in Psychology.  Katie went on two summer Virginia Tech faculty-led programs that changed her life: VT Camino and VT in Spain.

 

Katie grew up in the suburbs of northern Virginia, the youngest daughter of Chris and Jerry Berry. She comes from a large, close-knit family, and some of her favorite childhood memories are of running around her grandparents' old lake house at Lake Anna with her 18 cousins. Growing up, Katie enjoyed playing soccer and basketball, taking piano and voice lessons, and singing in choir.

 

Katie discovered her love of the Spanish language during her summer abroad in the summer of 2018. From her experience hiking the Camino de Santiago with the VT Camino program, she made amazing friends, became a more independent person, and decided to add Spanish as a second major. This led to her studying abroad a second time with the VT in Spain program during summer 2019. Katie has grown so much from her experiences abroad and loves helping other students do the same as a GEO Peer Advisor.

 

She describes her dream job as one that allows her to use her brain and doesn't bore her to tears.

 

Q&A with Katie:

What are some of your favorite hobbies?

     Karaoke, cooking, doing puzzles

 

What is your favorite type of music?

     Anything with a good beat + showtunes + the Michael Buble Christmas Album

 

What are some of your favorite TV shows?

     American Horror Story, Downton Abbey, Game of Thrones, Grey's Anatomy

 

If you could describe yourself in 3 words, what would they be? 

    Personable, caring, funny

 

 

Please reload

RECENT POSTS:

I'm busy working on my blog posts. Watch this space!

Please reload

SEARCH BY TAGS:
This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now