top of page

Guest Blogger: Andrew Knight


I am a “think and envision in my head before it actually happens” kind of person. I had done my research over and over again since freshmen year. I looked for every place I wanted to visit in Morocco and read every article. I was going to find the right-hand point breaks to surf, the camels to ride in the Sahara, and the mountains along the Mediterranean to hike. My classes were all set-in-stone, pre-approved, and the perfect fit. This experience was going to be incredible. And it really was.

However, as I hopped on the plane to go home, five months after beginning my journey, I wasn’t thinking about the sites I had checked off my to-do list. Instead, it was the cultural interactions I encountered, the unexpected learning of the Arabic language, and the simplest changes in everyday routine that had been the most rewarding.

I love to fill every day to the fullest, and I go non-stop. People say I speak too quickly, go on too many runs, and need to slow down. While I always thought those characteristics were traits I couldn’t change, I learned to slow down and be happy not filling every moment with action in Morocco.

What they don’t tell you on Google Travel or Trip Advisor is how a language can change your entire perception of being a visitor. I hadn’t planned on taking Arabic, but when I arrived, all the other exchange students were – so I figured why not? Sitting in a café for three hours talking with new friends from different backgrounds and ordering eight coffees in my newly acquired, grammatically incorrect Arabic was exciting and refreshing. This surprised me.

I learned that the unplanned and unexpected interactions prove to be far more rewarding than anything planned. I learned to take risks such as trying to break down the soccer team at the end of our practice and accidentally yelling “suahhh” instead of “sbuaaah.” two words that mean completely different things. One means “lions” and the other is an inappropriate word for a girl’s body part. Two words I definitely should not have messed up. The soccer team laughed. That little mistake helped me break into a new team and make friends with other players.

Studying abroad and living in a new place is not easy – but if you have an open mind and a willingness step outside of your comfort zone, you will grow. You’ll come back to Virginia Tech dreaming of the people you met and the places you saw, but you’ll also return with an ability to adapt. A friend who studied abroad with me said that ‘humans are the most adaptable people and that we can get used to almost anything’.

Halfway through the semester, I had an iPhone that wouldn’t turn on, and no Apple store nearby (the nearest one was in Spain). Who can survive without a phone in this world? It was the one thing that I needed to stay connected and at least have a camera to take pictures. Well… I survived, and it actually was overwhelmingly nice to not have a phone to check and people to respond to. I lived in the moment because I had no other options, but it felt good. I engaged in more conversations and noticed more happening around me. I believe that even if things seem to go terribly wrong, there will always be some good to come out of the situation.

I can’t say I always walked away from every new situation overwhelmingly happy while I was abroad. Picking snails from their shell with a tooth pick really didn’t please my hunger. Going for a hike with our Airbnb host that ended up being a walk along a road for 6 hours was not ideal. But these situations got me out of my norm and taught me about the people I was with.

For those of you who will take the jump to study abroad, know that it’s okay to feel a little nervous and anxious amidst the excitement. I wish someone had told me that because I think I had been dreaming of this trip for so long that those realities didn’t hit me until the very last minute. The day I left, I said goodbye to my long-term girlfriend and drove to the airport with my three little brothers and parents in tow. It was scary. Where was the person to help answer all my last minute, unnecessary questions? I hadn’t had a chance to let myself get upset, and it was intense. Make sure you let it all out and realize that it’s not going to be perfect, but I guarantee you it will be life changing.

About Andrew Knight:

Andrew Knight is a senior majoring in public relations in the College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences. He participated on an ISEP exchange program to Al Akhawayn University in Morocco. Read more about his experience in VT News.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page