top of page

The White Beauty

Winter is a magical time in Blacksburg. Visiting

Fulbright scholar, Ndidi Ngwuluka, beautifully

captures her experience here at Virginia Tech

through a poem.

Excitedly, I got up and looked out of my window

And there, you carpeted the ground, so white.

Oh you, a perfect definition of the color white.

Lush and pure, so alluring, the white beauty.

You festooned the roofs with your wow beauty

Even the roofs screaming, ‘we are old and tired”

Oh when you coated them with your beauty

They were calm, happy to have you on them.

You gave the shrubs and trees touches of white

They exhaled feeling romanced by your touch

They basked in your caress, savoring you slowly

You wet, quenched their thirst and nourished

I watched as the dogs exhibited such disregard

It displeased me but then they did not know

That patches of yellow adulterate your beauty

Even black dirt mars your luxuriant purity

For children to play, you are better than sand

For children to throw, you are better than stones

For people to build, you are more malleable

A heap or structure you glow in darkness

My first encounter with you and I was wowed

Wishing you could remain pure, dry and crisp

As you melted I smiled and exhaled, knowing

It will not be long and I will see you again.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page