top of page

Guest Blogger: Kevin Shedlick

Eight years ago this summer, I landed at the international airport in Amman, Jordan knowing precisely two words in Arabic: hello (marhaba) and thank you (shukran). While learning a new language can be extremely difficult, being hungry but unable to read restaurant signs is a great motivator for studying extra hard.

Studying abroad was one of the most fun experiences of my life, especially meeting Jordanian peers and exploring a unique, ancient culture. However, studying abroad wasn’t only fun, it taught me three major lessons that have helped after graduation:

1. Expand your worldview.

2. Be patient.

3. Step outside of your comfort zone.

As an alumnus, I’ve fortunately had a steady career trajectory from intern to research analyst to government employee. I attribute this heavily to my study abroad experience. Having had a class on Islam, discussions about geopolitical issues, and conversations with local people helped me better understand views and opinions.

At my first job interview, my international experience and desire to learn languages set me apart from the crowd. Having that expanded worldview and knowing a foreign language was a great career booster, and I was able to travel extensively after completing my master's degree. I had the opportunity to go on a work trip to Jordan solely because of my experience studying abroad there. I have been sent all around the world to places such as Nepal to Croatia. Without that international experience, I would have not qualified for any of these assignments, and would have missed some pretty amazing opportunities.

Parts of the world don’t operate as efficiently or quickly as the United States, and our Jordanian internet and bus transportation were always one “inshallah away” -- "inshallah" is a term for “if God wills it”, which typically means whenever it comes, it comes. A healthy dose of patience and flexibility is a major asset if you plan to travel or work abroad. I recently spent eight hours traveling fifty miles on “the National Highway” of Bhutan, which was more of a single, unpaved lane with a 500-foot drop on one side, and construction trucks flying past you on the other. I’ve had a sudden ice storm come in, grounding every flight into Iceland and stranding our group for an entire day. Studying abroad taught me that you just need to take everything in stride. Take a deep breath; everything will be ok and you can use it in a blog post one day!

My decision to study abroad in Jordan was made somewhat on a whim - I knew the Middle East was different, but I didn’t know how I would cope. At some point in everyone’s life, you’ll be challenged and stressed, especially when traveling abroad, and the more you know about yourself beforehand, the better. I’ve eaten more “what is this meat” meals than I can count, and experienced 39 passengers crammed into a 20 seat Tanzanian bus. But in the end, it was the best biryani I’ve ever eaten (and only for $1.40), and the bus took us to the start of a tour where I saw a sleepy, yoga-loving lion. I encourage you to study abroad in an unfamiliar place, learn a new language, and experience the amazing things this world has to offer!

My experiences are actually not unique; I know of many alumni whose study abroad has set them up for amazing career successes. In my parting words to you, it’s never too soon to travel abroad and see the world, especially if you desire to travel for work after graduation!

About Kevin:

He received a dual-degree in international studies and geography from Virginia Tech. He served as a peer advisor for the Global Education Office. Kevin completed his master's degree in international affairs at George Washington University. He currently works at the Department of Defense as an International Project Manager.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page